Can I be/have a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Massachusetts?

Yes, Massachusetts patients can choose to have a caregiver. Caregivers must be at least 21 years old.

To obtain a registration card for a personal caregiver, a qualifying patient shall submit, in a form and manner determined by the Department, the following:

  1. The personal caregiver’s full name, date of birth, address, telephone number, and email address, and a statement that the individual is at least 21 years of age;
  2. Full name, date of birth, and address of the qualifying patient for whom the personal caregiver will be providing assistance with the use of marijuana for medical purposes;
  3. A copy of the personal caregiver’s driver’s license, government-issued identification card, or other verifiable identity document acceptable to the Department;
  4. A statement of whether the caregiver will be cultivating marijuana for the patient, and at what address, if the patient is granted a hardship cultivation registration;
  5. Written acknowledgement by the personal caregiver of the limitations on his or her authorization to cultivate, possess, and dispense to his or her registered qualifying patient, marijuana for medical purposes in the Commonwealth;
  6. An attestation by the personal caregiver that he or she will not engage in the diversion of marijuana and that he or she understands that protections conferred by the Act for possession of marijuana for medical use are applicable only within Massachusetts; and
  7. Any other information required by the Department.